Annual Shapiro Award for Best Book in Israel Studies

The Association for Israel Studies annually awards the Shapiro Prize for the best book in Israel Studies published during the last calendar year. This award honors the memory of Yonathan Shapiro (1929-1997), one of Israel's most distinguished and influential sociologists. The award pays tribute to outstanding scholarship in the history, politics, society, law, economics, state, and culture of Israel and also the pre-1948 Jewish community in Palestine.

The Shapiro Award Committee will consider books in either English or Hebrew, in the social sciences, law, and the humanities, published in 2017 and only those published by AIS members (newly registered or renewed membership for 2018). Research monographs (but not a collection of articles), are eligible for the prize. Books translated from Hebrew into English and vice versa--if the original book was published prior to 2017--are not eligible, but those books first printed in other languages and then made available in 2017 in English or Hebrew can be submitted. Those wishing to submit books translated from other languages should consult committee chair to determine eligibility. Nominations can be made by individual scholars or by publishers. Those submitting books for consideration should send a copy to each of the five members of the committee.  Inquiries about eligibility may be addressed to the Prof. Raphael Cohen-Almagor, Chair of the 2018 Shapiro Award Committee. [names and addresses are listed below]

Deadline for Submissions: December 31, 2017

Members and Addresses of the 2018 Shapiro Award Committee:

Professor Raphael Cohen Almagor, Chair
School of Law and Politics
The University of Hull
Cottingham Road       
Hull, HU6 7RX
United Kingdom

Professor Mikhal Dekel
248 West 105 Street Apt. 2C
New York, NY 10025
Professor Tamar Hermann
Sociology, political science and communication dept.
The Open University of Israel
1 University Road

Professor Sam Lehman-Wilzig
3 Yitzchak Sadeh St. (Apt. 2)
4423918 Kfar Saba,
Dr Ruvi Ziegler
23 The Chilterns
Gloucester Green
Oxford OX1 2DF
United Kingdom



2017 (for books published in 2016):
- Abigail Jacobson and Moshe Naor, Oriental Neighbors: Middle Eastern Jews and Arabs in Mandatory Palestine, Brandeis University Press.

Books awarded an "Honorable Mention" as short-listed for final consideration are:
- Tamar S. Hess, Self as Nation: Contemporary Hebrew Autobiography, Brandeis University Press.
-Yoav Mehozay, Between the Rule of Law and States of Emergency: The Fluid Jurisprudence of the Israeli Regime, SUNY Press.
- Noa Roei, Ciivil Aesthetics: Militarism, Israeli Art and Visual Culture, Bloomsbury Academic.

2016 (for books published in 2015) Co-winners:
- Tamir Sorek, Palestinian Commemoration in Israel: Calendars, Monuments and Martyrs, Stanford University Press.
- Noam Zadoff, From Berlin to Jerusalem and Back: Gershom Scholem between Israel and Germany, Jerusalem: Carmel Publishing House (in Hebrew). 


2015 (for books published in 2014):
- Liora Halperin, Babel in Zion: Jews, Nationalism, and Language Diversity in Palestine, 1920-1948 (Yale University Press, 2014)


2014 (for books published in 2013):
- Guy Ben Porat, Between State and Synagogue: The Secularization of Contemporary Israel (Cambridge University Press, 2013)

2013 (for books published in 2012):
- Irit Keynan, Like a Hidden Wound: War Trauma in Israeli Society (Am Oved, 2012)
- Yagil Levy, Israel's Death Hierarchy: Casualty Aversion in a Militarized Democracy (New York University Press, 2012)
2012 (for books published in 2011):
- Oded Haklai. Palestinian Ethnonationalism in Israel. University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011.

2011 (for books published in 2010):
- Michelle U. Campos.  Ottoman Brothers: Muslims, Christians, and Jews in Early Twentieth-Century Palestine. Stanford University Press, 2010.
2010 (for books published in 2009) Co-winners:
- Michael Feige. Settling in the Hearts. Jewish Fundamentalism in the Occupied Territories. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 2009.
- Nir Kedar. Mamlakhtiyut. Hatefisah He'ezrahit shel David Ben-Gurion. Beersheba: Ben-Gurion University of the Negev Press, 2009.
2009 (for books published in 2008) Co-winners:
- Orit Rozin, “Duty and Love; Individualism and Collectivism in 1950s Israel,” (Hebrew: Am Oved, 2008)
- Menachem Mautner, “Law and Culture in Israel at the Threshold of the Twenty First Century,” (Hebrew: Am Oved, 2008)
2008 (for books published in 2007) Co-winners:
- Uri Ram, The Globalization of Israel: McWorld in Tel Aviv ,Jihad in Jerusalem (Routledge) .
- Anat Helman, Or v'Yam Hekifuha: Urban Culture in 1920s and 1930s Tel
(in Hebrew, Haifa University Press)
2007 (for books published in 2006) Co-Winners:
- Aviva Halamish ,  Be'merutz Kaful Neged Hazeman  [A Dual Race Against Time: Zionist Immigration Policy in the 1930s] (Yad Ben Zvi)
- Assaf  Likhovski,  Law and Identity in Mandate Palestine  (University of  Carolina Press)


2006 (for books published in 2004-2005, biannual award)
- Orit Kamir, She’ela shel Kavod: Yisraeli’ut U’khevod Ha’adam [Israeli Honor and Dignity: Social Norms, Gender Politics and the Law]. Carmel Publishers, 2004


2004 (for books published in 2002-2003, biannual award) Co-winners:
- Yehouda Shenhav, Heyehudim Ha'araviim: Leumiut, Dat v'Etniut [The Arab Jews: Nationality, Religion, and Ethnicity].  Am Oved, 2003
- Gad Barzilai, Communities and Law: Politics and Cultures of Legal Identities.  University of Michigan Press, 2003





Powered by
Home | About | Conferences | Membership | ISR | Awards | Resources | Contact